Open Data

Types of Disabilities among Albertans Aged 15 and Over by Sex


This Alberta Official Statistic describes the types of disabilities among Albertans aged 15 and over by sex for 2012. Ten “disability types” are included: Developmental, Dexterity, Flexibility, Hearing, Learning, Memory, Psychological, Mobility, Pain, Seeing, plus an “Unknown” category. Within each type of disability, it is further divided into males and females.


July 9, 2015

AOS Alberta Official Statistics CSD Disabilities PALS

Title and Dataset Information

Date Modified


Update Frequency


Publisher / Creator Information

Human Services

Human Services

Subject Information

Start Date


End Date


Spatial Coverage


Resource Dates

Date Created


Date Added to catalogue


Date Issued


Date Modified


Audience information


Usage / Licence

Usage Considerations

The 2012 Canadian Survey on Disability (CSD) was based on a sample of persons who reported an activity limitation on the 2011 National Household Survey (NHS) and who were 15 years of age or older as of the date of the NHS, May 10, 2011. Since the NHS excludes the institutionalized population and other collective dwellings, the CSD only covers persons living in private dwellings in Canada. Total sample size was approximately 45,500 individuals with an overall response rate of 75%.

Because the CSD is an extension of the 2011 NHS, it inherits the coverage problems of that survey, which in turn inherits the coverage problems of the 2011 Census.

The CSD used an instrument called the “Disability Screening Questions” (DSQ). Screener questions on the DSQ evaluate the presence and severity of 10 distinct types of disabilities related to a health problem or condition. Persons were identified as having a disability if they had difficulty performing tasks as a result of a long-term condition or health-related problem that had lasted or was expected to last for six months or more and experienced a limitation in their daily activities.

A severity score, which was developed for the survey, takes into account the number of disability types, the intensity of difficulties and the frequency of activity limitations. Using this score, persons with disabilities were classified into four severity levels.

The concepts and methods used to measure disability in the 2012 CSD represent a significant departure from those used in the 2006 Participation and Activity Limitation Survey (PALS). The most important change is that the two surveys used a different definition of disability. Other significant changes introduced for the CSD also affect time series comparability.


Contact Name

Office of Statistics and Information

Contact Email

Contact Other

(780) 427-2071