Open Data

Marital Status, Alberta Economic Regions


This Alberta Official Statistic describes the marital status of Alberta’s census families by economic regions for the 2011 census year. Alberta is divided into eight economic regions as follows: Lethbridge – Medicine -Hat; Camrose-Drumheller; Calgary; Banff – Jasper – Rocky Mountain House; Red Deer; Edmonton; Athabasca – Grande Prairie – Peace River; and Wood Buffalo – Cold Lake. This Alberta Official Statistic describes the marital status of Albertans by these economic regions based on the 2011 population census. The graph describes six marital statuses categorized as ’married (and not separated)’, ‘living common-law’, ‘single (never legally married)’, ‘separated’, ‘divorced’ and ‘widowed’.


June 24, 2015

AOS Alberta Official Statistics Marital Status

Title and Dataset Information

Date Modified


Update Frequency

Every 5 years

Publisher / Creator Information


Treasury Board and Finance

Subject Information

Start Date


End Date


Spatial Coverage

Economic Regions (ER)

Resource Dates

Date Created


Date Added to catalogue


Date Issued


Date Modified


Audience information


Usage / Licence

Usage Considerations

Before 1981, data on marital status were collected using a single question. In the 1981 and 1986 censuses, people living common law could report their common-law status by using one of the response categories in the question on relationship to Person 1; they were nonetheless included in the category 'Married' for purposes of data on marital status. Since 1991, the addition of a question solely on common law has made it possible to separate the concept of common-law status from that of legal marital status and to provide accurate data on both these concepts. The data from both questions can be combined to derive the classification, 'Marital status.'

In 2011, the category 'Never legally married' on the questionnaire was changed (previously 'Never legally married (single)'), but the concept did not change. Since 2006, the category 'Married' includes legally married same-sex spouses. Since 2001, the category 'Common-law' includes same-sex common-law partners. In 1961 and 1966, separated persons were included with married persons.

All persons under 15 years of age are considered to be single (never legally married) and not living common law.

Statistics Canada defines an Economic Region (ER) as a grouping of complete census divisions (CDs) (with one exception in Ontario) created as a standard geographic unit for analysis of regional economic activity.

Within the province of Quebec, economic regions (régions administratives) are designated by law. In all other provinces and territories, economic regions are created by agreement between Statistics Canada and the province/territory concerned.

Statistics Canada defines a Census Division as a group of neighboring municipalities joined together for the purposes of regional planning and managing common services (such as police or ambulance services). These groupings are established under laws in effect in certain provinces of Canada.


Contact Name

Office of Statistics and Information

Contact Email

Contact Other

(780) 427-2071