Open Data

Dependency Ratios, Alberta Economic Regions


This Alberta Official Statistic compares the total dependency ratio, the youth dependency ratio and the old age dependency ratio for the eight economic regions in Alberta for 2011. Dependency ratio (age dependency ratio) is the ratio of persons in the "dependent" ages (generally under age 15 and over age 64) to those in the "economically productive" ages (15 - 64 years) in a population. The age-dependency ratio is sometimes divided into old-age dependency (the ratio of people ages 65 and older to those ages 15-64) and child-dependency (the ratio of people under age 15 to those ages 15-64) ratios. The sum of these two is the total (age) dependency ratio. The age-dependency ratio is often used as an indicator of the economic burden the productive portion of a population must carry - even though some persons defined as "dependent" are producers and some persons in the "productive" ages are economically dependent. Countries with very high birth rates usually have higher dependency ratios because of the large proportion of children in the population.


June 2, 2015

Official Statistic dependency ratios population and demography

Title and Dataset Information

Date Modified


Update Frequency

Every 5 years

Publisher / Creator Information


Treasury Board and Finance

Subject Information

Start Date


End Date


Spatial Coverage

Economic Regions (ER)

Resource Dates

Date Created


Date Added to catalogue


Date Issued


Date Modified


Audience information


Usage / Licence

Usage Considerations

The census enumerates the entire Canadian population, which consists of Canadian citizens (by birth and by naturalization), landed immigrants and non-permanent residents and their families living with them in Canada. Non-permanent residents are persons who hold a work or student permit, or who claim refugee status. Responding to the Census is mandatory. More information on the Census of Population.

Statistics Canada defines an Economic Region (ER) as a grouping of complete census divisions (CDs) (with one exception in Ontario) created as a standard geographic unit for analysis of regional economic activity. Within the province of Quebec, economic regions (régions administratives) are designated by law. In all other provinces and territories, economic regions are created by agreement between Statistics Canada and the province/territory concerned.

Alberta encompasses eight economic regions. Following is a complete list of all Economic Regions within Alberta and their respective Census Divisions (CDs).

Lethbridge – Medicine Hat (CDs 1, 2, 3) Camrose - Drumheller (CDs 4, 5, 7, 10) Calgary (CD 6) Banff – Jasper – Rocky Mountain House (CDs 9, 14, 15) Red Deer (CD 8) Edmonton (CD 11) Athabasca – Grande Prairie – Peace River (CDs 13, 17, 18 and 19) Wood Buffalo – Cold Lake (CDs 12 and 16) When not available, information for Economic Regions was calculated by adding Statistics Canada Census Divisions data together as described above. Statistics Canada defines a Census Division as a group of neighboring municipalities joined together for the purposes of regional planning and managing common services (such as police or ambulance services). These groupings are established under laws in effect in certain provinces of Canada.


Contact Name

Office of Statistics and Information

Contact Email

Contact Other

(780) 427-2071