

## Northern Region

#111 Twin Atria 4999 98 Ave Edmonton AB T6B 2X3 Telephone: (780) 427-5828 Fax: (780) 427-9102 Web: www.environment.alberta.ca

January 9, 2009

Mike Baker Shell Canada Energy  $400 - 4^{th}$  Avenue S.W. P.O. Box 100, Station M Calgary, AB T2P 2H5

Dear Mr. Baker:

Further to your letter of January 8, 2008, I wish to advise you that the proposed Shell Peace River in-Situ Project is a mandatory activity pursuant to Schedule 1(j) of the *Environmental Assessment (Mandatory and Exempted Activities) Regulation*. Shell Canada Energy is required, pursuant to Section 44(1)(a) of the *Environmental Protection and Enhancement Act (EPEA)*, to prepare and submit an Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA) report for this project. The EIA report is to be prepared in accordance with the provisions of Division 1 of Part 2 of the *EPEA*.

In addition, please note that Alberta Environment's section (Part III) of *Alberta's First Nation Consultation Guidelines on Land Management and Resource Development* will apply to this project and, accordingly, you will be required to submit a First Nations Consultation Plan to the department. The full Guidelines can be found on the Alberta Aboriginal Relations' website at <a href="http://www.aboriginal.alberta.ca/571.cfm">http://www.aboriginal.alberta.ca/571.cfm</a>.

If you have any questions about the First Nations consultation process, please contact Donna Hovsepian at (780) 422-7028.

If you have any questions or require further directions about the Environmental Assessment process please contact Melissa Styba at (780) 427-2931.

At this time I would recommend you contact Shauna Sigurdson (780-495-2236) with the Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency to identify any potential federal triggers (including those under the *Fisheries Act* and *Navigable Waters Protection Act*) and thus any federal environmental assessment requirements under the *Canadian Environmental Assessment Act*.

Sincerely

Chris Powter

Environmental Assessment Team Leader

Northern Region

(Designated Director Under the Act)

cc: T. Abel (ERCB)

M. Kavanagh (AUC)

S. Sigurdson (CEAA)

K. Singh (AENV)

D. Hovsepian (AENV)