Tax and Revenue Administration (TRA)

Goods and Services Tax-Free Alberta Government Entities

Last updated: December 19, 2014

Goods and Services Tax-Free Alberta Government Entities

Following is the list of Alberta government entities and departments not required to pay Goods and Services Tax (GST) on purchases of taxable supplies and services. These entities are part of the Alberta Government for GST purposes and therefore immune from payment of GST as set out in section 125 of the *Constitution Act of Canada*. These entities are also not required to pay the Harmonized Sales Tax (HST) on their purchases in HST-participating provinces. The list is maintained by Alberta Treasury Board and Finance, Tax and Revenue Administration.

If you require further information, please call (780) 427-9425. For toll-free calling from within Alberta, outside the Edmonton calling area, please dial 310-0000, then 780-427-9425. For general GST inquiries other than those pertaining to Alberta Government departments and entities, please contact the <u>Canada Revenue Agency</u>.

Accuracy of Content

Every effort has been made to ensure its accuracy; however, discrepancies may occur from time to time. This information is current to the above report date.

Entity	Department or Ministry
ATB Financial (operating trade name of the Alberta Treasury Branches)	Treasury Board and Finance
ATB Investment Management Inc.	Treasury Board and Finance
ATB Investment Services Inc.	Treasury Board and Finance
ATB Securities Inc.	Treasury Board and Finance
Agriculture Financial Services Corporation (AFSC)	Agriculture and Rural Development

TAX AND REVENUE ADMINISTRATION

9811 - 109 STREET, EDMONTON AB T5K 2L5

Email: <u>TRA.Revenue@gov.ab.ca</u>

Website: <u>tra.alberta.ca</u>
 Phone: 780-427-3044
 Fax: 780-427-0348

Note: for toll-free service in Alberta, call 310-0000, then enter the number.



Entity	Department or Ministry	
Alberta Auto Insurance Board	Treasury Board and Finance	
Alberta Capital Finance Authority	Treasury Board and Finance	
berta Foundation for the Arts Culture and Tourism		
Alberta Gaming and Liquor Commission	Treasury Board and Finance	
Iberta Government Telephones Commission Iote: This does not include TELUS Corporation) Treasury Board and Finance		
Alberta Health Services (including Carewest and Capital Care Group Inc.)	Health	
Alberta Historical Resources Foundation	Culture and Tourism	
Alberta Insurance Council	Treasury Board and Finance	
Alberta Investment Management Corporation (AIMCo)	Treasury Board and Finance	
Alberta Irrigation Projects Association	Agriculture and Rural Development	
Alberta Livestock and Meat Agency Ltd.	Agriculture and Rural Development	
Alberta Local Authorities Pension Plan Corp.	Treasury Board and Finance	
Alberta Lottery Fund	Treasury Board and Finance	
Alberta Order of Excellence Council	Executive Council	
Alberta Pensions Services Corporation	Treasury Board and Finance	
Alberta Petroleum Marketing Commission	Energy	
Alberta Record Management Committee	Service Alberta	
Alberta Securities Commission	Treasury Board and Finance	
Alberta Social Housing Corporation	Municipal Affairs	
Alberta Sport, Recreation, Parks and Wildlife Foundation	Environment and Sustainable Resource Development	
Alberta Treasury Branches (operates under the trade name ATB Financial)	Treasury Board and Finance	
Alberta Utilities Commission (AUC)	Energy	

Entity	Department or Ministry	
Arca Investments Inc.	Treasury Board and Finance	
Auditor General of Alberta	Offices of the Legislative Assembly	
Big Country Waste Management	Municipal Affairs	
Board of Censors (Film Classification Board)	Culture and Tourism	
Child and Family Services Authorities (CFSA) - 10 regions		
Region 1 - Southwest Alberta CFSA Region 2 - Southeast Alberta CFSA Region 3 - Calgary and Area CFSA Region 4 - Central Alberta CFSA Region 5 - East Central Alberta CFSA Region 6 - Edmonton and Area CFSA	Human Services	
Region 7 - North Central Alberta CFSA Region 8 - Northwest Alberta CFSA Region 9 - Northeast Alberta CFSA Region 10 - Metis Settlements CFSA		
Corporate Human Resources (formerly Personnel Administration Office)	Treasury Board and Finance	
Drainage Council	Environment and Sustainable Resource Development	
Drainage Districts (9) (Bearhills Lake, Big Hay Lake, Cameron, Cygnet Lake, Daysland, Dickson, Hay Lake, Holden, Manawan)	Environment and Sustainable Resource Development	
Funeral Services Regulatory Board	Service Alberta	
Government of Alberta Dental Plan Trust	Human Services	
Government Employees Group Extended Medical Benefits Plan Trust	Human Services	
Government House Foundation	Culture and Tourism	
Historic Resources Fund	Culture and Tourism	
Human Rights Citizenship and Multiculturalism Education Fund	Justice and Solicitor General	
Improvement Districts (Numbers 4, 9, 12, 13, 24)	Municipal Affairs	
Improvement District - Kananaskis	Culture and Tourism	
Insurance Appeal Board	Treasury Board and Finance	

Entity	Department or Ministry
Irrigation Districts (13) (Aetna, Bow River, Eastern, Leavitt, Lethbridge Northern, Magrath, Mountain View, Raymond, Ross Creek, St. Mary River, Taber, United, Western)	Agriculture and Rural Development
Joint Library Committee	Justice and Solicitor General
Learning Resources Distributing Centre	Education
Legislative Assembly Support Office	Offices of the Legislative Assembly
Metis Settlements Appeal Tribunal	Aboriginal Relations
Municipal Government Board	Municipal Affairs
Natural Resources Conservation Board (N.R.C.B.)	Environment and Sustainable Resource Development
Northern Alberta Development Council	Aboriginal Relations
Office of the Chief Electoral Officer	Offices of the Legislative Assembly
Office of the Chief Information Officer	Service Alberta
Office of the Ethics Commissioner	Offices of the Legislative Assembly
Office of the Information and Privacy Commissioner	Offices of the Legislative Assembly
Office of the Ombudsman	Offices of the Legislative Assembly
Office of the Premier	Executive Council
Persons with Developmental Disabilities (PDD) Community Boards - six regions: PDD Northeast Community Board PDD Northwest Alberta Community Board PDD Edmonton Community Board PDD Central Alberta Community Board PDD Calgary Region Community Board PDD South Alberta Community Board	Human Services
Persons with Developmental Disabilities Michener Center Facility Board	Human Services
Persons with Developmental Disabilities Foundation	Human Services
Persons with Developmental Disabilities Provincial Board	Human Services

Entity	Department or Ministry	
Premier's Council on the Status of Persons with Disabilities	Human Services	
Public Affairs Bureau	Executive Council	
Seniors Advisory Council for Alberta	Health	
Special Areas Board	Municipal Affairs	
Teachers' Retirement Fund	d Education	
ravel Alberta Corporation Culture and Tourism		
Wild Rose Foundation	Culture and Tourism	
Workers' Compensation Board (W.C.B.)	Human Services	

Back to Top

Summary of Tax-Free Alberta Government Offices, Departments and Ministries

Advanced Education **Indigenous** Relations Agriculture and Forestry Infrastructure

Children's Services

Communications and Public Engagement

Community and Social Services

Culture and Tourism

Economic Development and Trade

Education Energy

Environment and Parks

Executive Council

Health

Justice and Solicitor General

Labour

Municipal Affairs

Public Service Commission

Seniors and Housing Service Alberta

Status of Women Transportation

Treasury Board and Finance (includes

Public Service Commission)

Contact Information and Useful Links

Contact Tax and Revenue Administration (TRA):	Email: TRA.Revenue@gov.ab.ca
Visit our website:	tra.alberta.ca
Subscribe to receive email updates:	tra.alberta.ca/subscribe.html
TRA Client Self-Service (TRACS):	tra.alberta.ca/tracs