Government of Alberta 🔳

Environment and Water

Environmental Operations Regional Integration 111 Twin Atria Building 4999 - 98 Avenue Edmonton, Alberta T6B 2X3 Canada Telephone: 780-427-5828 Fax: 780-427-9102 www.environment.alberta.ca

December 1, 2011

Ms. Kathy Penney 400 – 4th Avenue S.W. P.O. Box 100, Station M Calgary, AB T2P 2H5

Re: Shell Canada Limited Proposed Quest Carbon Capture and Storage Project

Dear Ms. Penney:

The Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA) report for the proposed Quest Carbon Capture and Storage Project has now been deemed complete pursuant to Section 53 of the *Environmental Protection and Enhancement Act* (EPEA). Alberta Environment and Water and associated government agencies have reviewed the EIA report received on November 30, 2010, and Supplemental Information Request Response(s) received on August 2, 2011 and November 7, 2011 and have determined that the content of the report meets the Terms of Reference published on November 2, 2010.

Please note that this determination of EIA Completeness **does not** represent acceptance or approval of the proposed project. The EIA report has been referred to the Energy Resources Conservation Board (ERCB) who will issue a decision as to whether the project may proceed further in the regulatory process. If the ERCB approves the proposed Quest Carbon Capture and Storage Project, it will then require a regulatory decision by Alberta Environment and Water with regards to EPEA_Applications No. 013-49587 and No. 001-284507. Shell may be required to provide additional project information to Alberta Environment and Water in order for the necessary regulatory decisions to be made and potential approvals issued.

If you have any questions about the Alberta Environment and Water Approvals process, please contact Winnie Chan at (780) 415-9627. For information about the ERCB process, please contact Alanda Allum at (403) 297-8848.

Sincerely,

Corinne Kristensen Acting Environmental Assessment Team Leader Regional Integration (Designated Director Under the Act)

cc: Winnie Chan (AEW) Alanda Allum (AEW) Leah Kirkpatrick (Shell) Amit Banerjee (AEW) Don McCabe (AEW)